45th Annual Larry Nelson Classic Preview

Fifty-five years ago, Larry Nelson had a vision of bringing together the best wrestling teams in Solano County in a dual format tournament, to see which team, no matter the league affiliation, was the toughest. What followed was the creation of the Solano Classic, held the first weekend of December at Vacaville High School annually. Since then the tournament has outgrown the county boundaries and often includes teams from other CIF sections, and out of state. It has since been renamed for its founder, the Larry Nelson Classic – and this year will open its doors for the 55th continuous time on December 1 at the Harold Youngblood Gymnasium.

Defending champions Vacaville High find themselves in unfamiliar territory – they are not the favorite to win their tournament. Seventh-ranked Clovis North by The California Wrestler boasts a sturdy, balanced lineup from the Central Section, and should be considered the tournament favorite. The Broncos are led by returning state medalists Ryan Franco (132) and Devin Murphy (126). As well, as a numerous of outstanding incoming freshman ready to make a name for themselves.

The Bulldogs, ranked-fifteen in the state, will be led by state qualifiers T.J. Ruiz (120), Connor Shirar (126), Jacob Peralta (132), Zane Martin (145), Tyee Ducharme (152), Cole Chapman (160) and Chris Island (220). The Dogs counter with a balanced lineup as well – however, may be without the services of a couple of football players who are entering the wrestling season banged up. Often dual-meets of this nature come down to the matches where neither team features a ranked wrestler – and for Vacaville that will mean relying on a tough, but talented group of underclassmen who will be spread throughout the lineup this weekend.

Teams scheduled to participate this weekend include the following – Bella Vista (SJ), Clovis North (CS), McQueen (Nevada), Windsor (NC), Vacaville (SJ), Oak Ridge (SJ), Paso Robles (CS), and Woodland (SJ).


# 8 Hayden Zinkin (Clovis North)

# 12 Isaiah Kainoa Medina (Vacaville)


# 5 Blake Fredrickson (Windsor)

# 10 Christopher Bencomo (Clovis North)


# 5 Joey Cruz (Clovis North)

# 22 T.J. Ruiz (Vacaville)

# 38 Max McCarver (Oak Ridge)

HM Tyler Maples (Bella Vista)


# 1 Devin Murphy (Clovis North)

# 26 Connor Shirar (Vacaville)

# 34 Dylan Maduena (Paso Robles)


# 2 Ryan Franco (Clovis North)

# 12 Jacob Peralta (Vacaville)

HM Justin Campbell (Windsor)


# 12 Jared Horstman (Oak Ridge)

# 14 Rocky Beckett (Clovis North)

# 35 Zach Robles (Woodland)


# 12 Trent Silva (Windsor)

# 15 Zach Watts (Clovis North)

# 23 Zane Martin (Vacaville)


# 11 Tyee Ducharme (Vacaville)

# 35 Evan Almaguer (Clovis North)


# 13 Cole Chapman (Vacaville)

# 15 Vito Cuttone (Clovis North)


HM Coulter Malone (Vacaville)

HM Reid Sherwood (Clovis North)


# 10 Kaden West (Oak Ridge)

HM Max Polly (Vacaville)


# 21 Kenny Probis (Vacaville)

# 33 Gabriel Guzman (Oak Ridge)

HM Paul Sharp (Clovis North)


# 6 Chris island (Vacaville)

# 13 Preston Cobabe (Oak Ridge)


HM Austin Jacob (Windsor)