CA HS Round up 1/25/16

California High School Round up

January 25, 2016

By Pablo DiMaria



TRENCE GILLEM – Helix Charter High School (SD)

Poway High captures the Raul Huerta Memorial team title for a fifth consecutive year

MORENO VALLEY – The Raul Huerta Memorial is a tournament that gives programs and individuals in Southern California an opportunity to heighten their technique prior to the post season. Team champions for a fifth straight year were the “Mean Green Machine” of Poway High. The Titans advanced 10 wrestlers to the finals and won five weight classes; Jacob Allen (106s), Chase Zollman (120s), D.J. Garcia (145), Hampton Boyd (160s), and Celso Silva at 170 pounds. The Titans also swept the awards; Garcia was awarded the MVP Lower Weights, Hampton the MVP of the Upper Weights, and Chase Zollmann was the recipient of the Champion of Champions award with six falls in the tournament.

Beaumont’s Oscar Ramirez (113s) had a great weekend, in which he earned a championship with an overall tournament record of four falls and a decision. The last champion to win this tournament for the Cougars was Terrill Sidener in 2012. During his run to the tournament, he defeated 2015 state qualifier, Ryan Ritchie (Westview), 6-3, before pinning Cameron Santiago (Poway) in exactly one minute of their respective match. Two outstanding wrestlers from the Southern Section met up at 126 pounds – Norberto Buenrostro (Citrus Hill) and Aaron Diaz of Canyon Springs. With the score tied at 1 late in the third period, Buenrostro took Diaz down and was in strong position to win the match; however, with 10 seconds left in the match, Diaz scored a reversal to take the match into sudden death-overtime. In the overtime period Buenrosto got the takedown in 20 seconds to win weight class. At 132 pounds, Brandon Kier (Poway), ranked # 4 (126s) in the state met Trence Gillem (Helix), ranked # 5 (132s) in the finals. A late takedown by Gillem made the difference in the match to secure his championship.


DURBIN LLOREN – Buchanan High School (CS)

Buchanan High dominates the field at Mid-Cals

GILROY – The No. 1 ranked team in the state of California showcased their talent on Saturday as they won the tournament with 7 champions and 13 place winners overall. Buchanan won the tournament with a total of 536 points, defeating runner-up Gilroy (317.5). Clovis North (242.5), Frontier (204) and Clovis West (202.5) rounded out the top five teams.

Champions for Buchanan were Ethan Leake (113s), Durbin Lloren (132s), Greg Gaxiola (147s), Abner Romero (162s), Cade Belshay (170s), Anthony Montalvo (182s) and Zak Levatino at 285 pounds.

Leake started things off for the Bears in the championship round by winning a tough (5-4) match over 2014 state medalist, Javier Alaniz of Clovis West. At 134 pounds, team captain and leader, D.J. Lloren, showed those in attendance why he is “the man to beat” at this weight, as he displayed an excellent array of technique to outmaneuver the # 2 ranked wrestler in the state, Alex Felix of Gilroy 10-3.

Gaxiola, and Romero finished the tournament with four falls and a technical-fall in their championship matches, while Montalvo had five falls in the tournament, including a 36 second pin in the finals. Up next for the Bears is a dual-meet on Thursday against the # 8 ranked team in the nation Clovis High.

Freshman sensation, Jaden Abas (Frontier) was impressive in the finals of the tournament, as he defeated state medalist Isaiah Perez (Dinuba) 7-5 to claim his first Mid-Cal’s tournament. Prior to meeting up with Perez, Abas defeated 2015-tournament runner-up Adrian Marrufo (Dos Palos) 6-2 in the semifinals.



Pinchedwatana leads Mayfair High to a championship team title at the Sam Boyd Tournament

MORRO BAY – For the first time ever in the rich wrestling tradition of Mayfair High, the Monsoons won the 62nd Annual Sam Boyd tournament in dominating fashion. With eighth medal winners and a champion in Justin Pichedwatana (160s), Mayfair was able to fight off a stiff challenge from Calvary Chapel-Santa Ana to win the event with 204.5 points. The Church Boyz finished as runner-ups with 199.5 points, followed by Madera (175.5), Madera South (174) and Central (162.5) to roundup the top five teams in the tournament. Jacob Alcobendas also advanced to the finals of the event for the Monsoons, but lost a tough 5-3 match to Johnny Knowles of Calvary Chapel.

Calvary Chapel’s Justin Thomas (170) was presented with the MVP Upper Weights award. He finished the tournament with five falls, and a fall over state qualifier, Jonathan Hunter (Golden Valley) in the first period of their championship bout. Elijah Palacio (113s), Luciano Arroyo (120s) and Johnny Knowles (145s) wrestled up a weight class this past weekend.

KENNY JONES - Lassen High School (N)

KENNY JONES – Lassen High School (N)

Grant Pass High (OR) runs away with the team title in the North Coast Classic Tournament

EUREKA – More than 24 teams packed the Jay Willard Gymnasium at Eureka High School to witness a spectacle of great wrestling and technique. The team championship went to Grant Pass High from the state of Oregon, earning a total of 210 points. The Cavemen won five individual titles, as well as capturing a third and fourth placer winner.

Sutter High School came in second place (184.5), producing a pair of champions in Jimmy Heryford (106s) and Mike Adams (132s). They also had two wrestlers place second, as well as three placing third. Orland High School finished in third with 153 points, crowning three champions in Ricky Landeros (120s), Yonathan Esquibel (126s) and Steven Abbott (170s), as well as one finishing in third. Host Eureka placed fourth in the team standings with 147 points, producing two finalist and one third place finisher.

The Northern Section had a great showing as they won 8 out of the 14 contested matches on Saturday evening. Northern State University recruit, Kenny Jones (Lassen) made fast work of Chase Wimer (Corning), ranked # 2 (145) in the Northern Section, 15-0 to claim the first of two titles for Lassen High. The 160-pound finals featured a bout between Rodney Kincaid (Anderson) and Noah Lindeman (Lassen), ranked # 2 and # 3 in the Norther Section. In the end, Kinkaid took home the title, defeating Lindeman 17-5.