Reyna, Ceja, and Glaude win Titles at Bob Kellogg Women`s Open

Alex Glaude (McKendree University/Christian Brothers HS)

JACKSONVILLE, ILL. – For the second year in a row, many of our California grapplers won individual titles at the Bob Kellogg Women’s Open. This year, Natalie Reyna (McKendree University/Hesperia HS), Sugey Ceja (Tiffin University/Corona HS) and Alex Glaude (McKendree University/Christian Brothers HS) were successful in claiming individual championships.

Reyna advanced to the championship round at 101-pounds by earning two consecutive 10-0 technical fall wins in the preliminary rounds. In the finals, Reyna earned the fall over teammate Coellet Rangel (McKendree University/Panorama HS) in 4:28.

Competing in the third collegiate tournament of her career, Ceja, outscored the competition 28-0 without allowing a single takedown in the tournament. Ceja finished with a 3-0 record and defeated Susie Fozo (McKendree University) 10-0 in the championship bout at 123-pounds.

Competing at 155-0pounds, Glaude, had two first period pins to advance to the championship round. In the championship round, Glaude defeated teammate Joye Levendusky, 7-0.

Redshirt senior Coellet Rangel (McKendree University/Panorama HS) also advanced to the finals of this event at 101-pounds by earning two consecutive falls in the first round. The fastest fall came in the first round as she pinned Tory Marrufo (McMurray) in just 59 seconds. In the championship bout, Rangel was defeated by Reyna in 4:28.

After earning a bye in the first round, Prescillia Toe (McKendree University/Vallejo HS), fell 10-0 to the eventual champion in Jasmine Hernandez (Lyon College) at 116-pounds. Toe bounced back by defeating Phoenix Horn (Lakeland College) in 1:17 and Jaelyn Fazio (Tiffin University) in 5:40 to earn third place in her weight class.

At 130-pounds, Miyuki Pugrad (Viking Wrestling Club/Kennedy HS), finished with a 4-1 record and a third-place medal. After pinning Teya Villalpando (University of Mary) in 1:42, Pugrad was defeated by the eventual champion in Zoe Nowicki (Adrian College) 6-0. Pugrad then won his next two matches in the consolation bracket. She demolished Jocelyn Murphy (Missouri Valley College) to a tune of 14-4 and then defeated via a major decision Mia Dow (MacMurray) in the third-place bout.

Other California wrestlers placing in the tournament included the following –

109 – Kylie Titis (MacMurray/Lincoln HS) fourth-placed
130 – Mia Dow (MacMurray/Walnut HS) fourth-placed
136 – Brianne Penunuri (McKendree University/El Monte HS) fifth-placed
136 – Alexandrea Banag (Lyon College/Granada Hills HS) sixth-placed
143 – Aniseta Acosta (Lyon College/Hiram Johnson HS) fourth-placed
170 – Alexis Young (Tiffin University/River Valley HS) third placed