Three California Grapplers Claim Mike Clock Open Championships

TCW Bear LogoFOREST GROVE, Ore. – The state of California won three individual titles and finished runner-up in three other weight classes as the golden state dominated the 2018 Mike Clock Open women’s wrestling tournament on Saturday.

Tara Othman of Southern Oregon University, Lauren Mason and Alyvia Fisk of Simon Frasier University all won their weight classes. Pauline Granados of the University of Providence, Alexandra Hedrick of Simon Fraser University, and Julissa Taitano of Southern Oregon University finished second.

Othman defeated Bailey Hoshino (Pacific University) 10-0 in the quarterfinal round and Yurie Yoneoka (University of Providence) 6-1 in the semifinal to advance to the finals where she went on to claim the individual championship by earning a fall over Marie Seely (Southwest Oregon Community) in the finals at 116.

Mason won the individual championship by defeating fellow teammate Sunita Sewak, 5-0. All points came in the first period as her technique was flawless on the day. Mason finished with a 4-0 record after three technical falls in the early rounds.

Fisk earned her first tournament title of the season by pinning Olivia Pizano (Southern Oregon University) in the first period of their championship match. She was untouched by the opposition as she outscored them 32-0 in her three matches.

Granados won her first two matches at 109 before being defeated 8-0 by Ciara McCrae (Simon Frasier University) in the championship finals.

Hedrick, the No. 2 wrestler in the WCWA at 123-pounds, looked good in the early rounds as she earned two consecutive technical fall victories. However, in the championship bout, Hedrick was surprised by Dajan Treder (University of Providence) and lost 4-0.

Taitano finished the day with a 2-1 record as she recorded two technical fall victories before falling 11-1 in the championship bout to Nicole Depa (Simon Frasier University).

Other California wrestlers placing top fourth in their weight class included the following:

  • Sophia Mercado of Pacific University – 3rd at 101
  • Juliana Castro of Umpqua Community College – 4th at 101
  • Jade Martin of Southern Oregon University – 4th at 109
  • Anastasia Hardin of University of Providence – 4th at 155
  • Madisen Bozovich of Eastern Oregon University – 4th at 191
  • Abyah Fields of Southern Oregon University – 5th at 191