Zahid Valencia Wins Amateur Wrestling News’ 2019 Hammer Award

AWN Writer Jim Kalin presents Zahid Valencia the 2019 Hammer Award

AWN’s HAMMER AWARDThe award is presented to the wrestler who wins the national title at what the writers at AWN decide is the most competitive weight class every season.

Valencia defeated NCAA Champion Mark Hall (Penn State) in the finals. Past recipients of The Hammer include Logan Stieber (Ohio State), Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State), Bo Nickal (Penn State), and Spencer Lee (Iowa).

174 – Zahid Valencia (Arizona State/St. John Bosco, S)